Should I Really Pay for Software?

When Anne and I were in Budapest last month, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the budget hotel we’d chosen not only offered free wifi, but had a computer set up for guests to use.  An even bigger surprise- the computer was set up with Linux.

I’d never used Linux before, but I had some important fantasy baseball transactions to make so I gritted my teeth and dove in.  And it wasn’t so bad.

In fact I even kind of liked it. The computer I was on was clearly a dinosaur, but it ran almost as fast as my recently deceased laptop which was struggling under the bulk of windows XP.

Linux isn’t nearly as pretty as Windows Vista or Mac OS X, but it’s so much free-er.  As in completely.  Add on AVG’s anti-virus software, konquer or firefox, thunderbird’s email app, and Open Office and I’m good to go without spending a dime on software. 

Since the death of my laptop, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what I want in my next computer. After a lot of thought, I might finally be ready to make the jump to Linux.

The alternative: Windows Vista, Norton Anti-Virus and Microsoft Office add several hundred dollars to the price of a new computer.  They are fancier, slicker and prettier.  They’re also the industry standard so they play well with other software and hardware.  However, with a little DIY work my free software should be able to handle most of those tasks just as well.

I think (anyone know?) that some of the major computer manufacturers are beginning to ship computers with linux already installed. Maybe Linux is finally ready for semi-technical users like me?

There’s no doubt that making the jump would be an adjustment.  When it comes to Linux, I have a lot to learn.  On the other hand,  all the stuff I’m used to is there. It’ll just take me a while to figure out exactly where it’s hiding. I’m cheap enough that I’m willing to take the plunge.

I’d love to hear if anyone’s actually done it. Anyway made the jump to linux or open office? Is this stuff still too complicated for anyone other than serious computer nerds?

3 Responses to Should I Really Pay for Software?

  1. Jereme says:

    Kyle you have to go with Windows Vista on your next computer. I’ll hook you up with the anti-virus, gratis. Also, for any games or other non-business apps linux is useless. You still have Warcraft and a few other things kicking around to do that will not work with linux Also, a Windows based PC will work with your XBOX to stream downloaded video onto your TV. Traditional is sometimes the best way to go. Skimp on other things, that are non-essentials. Your computer is your livelihood, don’t play around with it.

  2. Kyle says:

    1. Hater.

    2. I don’t think I necessarily need that stuff.
    First of all there is no such thing as norton or symantec anti-virus gratis. even if you pirate the software (which you might now want to suggest in a public forum), there’s still no way to pirate the subscription to updates. That’s where they stick you. Anyway, the Norton vs AVG ddebate can be had elsewhere since it’s really not my point.

    I don’t do much PC Gaming and haven’t played Warcraft in forever. That stuffs fun, but I do have an x box and I’m not necesaily willing to plunk down 200 bucks for vista just to play warcraft.

    And is Linux still only a business users tool? I see handy media, blogging and social networking apps on lifehacker all the time. I think times are a changing on that one. Linux might make my life a trickier someties, but for that sacrifice you get a faster computer at a cheaper price. Rumor has it that Bill Gates has been running unix on his personal computer for years.

    Now the question of streaming content from my computer to my tv (through my xbox or otherwise) is something all address in an upcoming post. Stay tuned.

  3. I would never suggest pirating software. As a reponsible journalst who will be covering the ESA organized E3, to say something like that would be stupid. I was merely saying I would pay for your anti-virus software as a birthday gift.

Leave a comment