Kyle’s Challenge Update #1

I’m headed out to a party soon which means my day in the vicinity of a computer is just about done.

1 day down. so far, so good.

Today felt a little bit like being on a diet or quitting smoking- not that I’ve every done those things. But I definitely noticed the absence of those tabs. And I’d really love to check my email again just to make sure that job applied for hasn’t gotten back to me. But they’re 9 hours behind me.  Which means they’ve only been open for business about 45 minutes today. So I guess the odds are against it.

I was also surprised how much time I spent online today even with only 3 sites. I didn’t even get to the New York Times. I killed an hour on email and at least an hour more searching for jobs.  But I spent that time actually sending email and cleaning up my inbox- not just clicking refresh. So I feel good about that.

The only mild cheating was asking other people to look things up on the web for me. It felt a little silly, but I followed the letter of the law.

So far, I think this challenge is good for me. I just wish I could go onto facebook and tell my friends about it.

Leave a comment