But what kind of Poivron?

I’ve had a hard time finding much in the way of spicey food here in France. Aside from harissa at the kebob stands, it’s tough to find anything with much of a kick. I’ve bought peppers at the markets a couple of times now looking for that familiar burn, but to no avail. And since they call peppers by different names here, I couldn’t even figure out what I was buying.

Then I saw this today on my Epicurious. (Yes, I know 2 posts in 2 days about Epicurious, but what can you do).

I thought I was getting a jalapeno or serrano chile, but it turns out I was getting an anaheim chile.  Next time, I’ll know to add more and I’ll throw in the seeds too which are the part of the chile that packs the most punch.

Thought I’d share in case any of our loyal readers happen to be shopping for peppers in a foreign language.

Leave a comment